Louisiana Academy of Sciences

    Governance

The Academy is governed by the Executive Council, in accordance with the Academy’s Constitution and Bylaws.

 

    Executive Council

  • Please direct correspondence regarding membership to the Treasurer and Membership Secretary.
  • Please direct correspondence regarding the Proceedings to the Senior Editor of Proceedings.
  • Please direct correspondence regarding the Student Paper Competition to the Annual Meeting Student Competitions Coordinator.
  • Please direct general correspondence to the President.

Officers

President (2015-2017)
John Doucet

College of Arts and Sciences
Nicholls State University
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4721
John.Doucet@nicholls.edu

Past President (2015-2017)
Gerard Blanchard

Dept of Chemistry and Physics 
Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond, LA 70402

(985) 549-2158 
gblanchard@selu.edu

President-Elect (2015-2017)
Pedro Derosa

Department of Mathematics and Physics 
Grambling State University 
Grambling, LA 71245

(318) 274-3863
derosap@gram.edu

Long Range Planning Chair 
William H. Dees

Department of Biology and Health Sciences   
McNeese State University
Lake Charles, LA 70609

(337) 475-5654 
wdees@mcneese.edu

Treasurer and Membership Secretary
Gerard Blanchard

Dept of Chemistry and Physics 
Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond, LA 70402

(985) 549-2158 
gblanchard@selu.edu

Secretary
Christof F. Stumpf

Department of Biological Sciences
8100 Highway 71 South 
Louisiana State University at Alexandria 
Alexandria, LA 71302-9121

(318) 473-6434  
cstumpf@lsua.edu

Senior Editor of Proceedings 
John Doucet

College of Arts and Sciences
Nicholls State University
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4721
John.Doucet@nicholls.edu

Web Site/Communication Coordinator 
vacant

Annual Meeting Student Competitions Coordinator
Kathy Jackson

Department of Biology and Health Sciences
McNeese State University
Lake Charles, LA  70609

(337) 475-5672
kjajackson@mcneese.edu

Archivist
Thomas Sasek

Dept of Biology
University of Louisiana at Monroe
Monroe, LA  71209

(318) 342-1792
sasek@ulm.edu

Bulletin Editor
Riad Yehya

Dept of Sociology 
Southern University 
Baton Rouge, LA  70813

(225) 771-5095
riad_yehya@subr.edu

 

Agriculture, Forestry, and Wildlife Division

Division Director (Interim)               
William Dees

Dept of Biology and Health Sciences
McNeese State University             
Lake Charles, LA  70609

(337) 475-5654
wdees@mcneese.edu

 

Biological Sciences Division

Division Director
Jameel Al-Dujaili

Division of Sciences   
Louisiana State University at Eunice 
Eunice, LA 70535

(337) 457- 7311 Ext. 251  
jdujaili@lsue.edu

Section Chairs

 

 

Botany
Alex Lasseigne

Department of Biological Sciences
Nicholls State University  
Thibodaux, LA  70310

(985) 448-4709  
Alex.Lasseigne@nicholls.edu

Environmental Sciences
Ramaraj Boopathy

Department of Biology 
Nicholls State University 
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4716 
ramaraj.boopathy@nicholls.edu

Microbiology 
Jameel Al-Dujaili

Division of Sciences 
Louisiana State University at Eunice 
Eunice, LA 70535 

(337) 457- 7311 Ext. 251
jdujaili@lsue.edu

Molecular and Biomedical Biology 
Ann Findley

Department of Biology  
University of Louisiana at Monroe  
Monroe, LA  71209

(318) 342-1817
afindley@ulm.edu

Zoology 
Gary LaFleur

Department of Biological Sciences
Nicholls State University
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4715
gary.lafleur@nicholls.edu

 

Physical Sciences Division

Division Director 
Diola Bagayoko

Dept of Physics 
Southern University 
Baton Rouge, LA 70813

(225) 771-2730
Bagayoko@aol.com
Bagayoko@phys.subr.edu

Section Chairs

 

 

Chemistry  
August Gallo

Department of Chemistry  
University of Louisiana at Lafayette 
Lafayette, LA  70504

(337) 482-5679 
gallo@louisiana.edu

Computer Science 
Yenumula Reddy

Department of Math and Computer Science 
Grambling State University 
Grambling, LA  71245

(318) 274-2421  
ybreddy@gram.edu

Earth Sciences
Anne Case Hanks

College of Arts, Education, and Sciences 
University of Louisiana at Monroe  
Monroe, LA  71209

(318) 342-1822  
casehanks@ulm.edu

Materials Science and Engineering 
Naidu Seetala

Department of Physics
Grambling State University
Grambling, LA 71245

(318) 274-2574
naidusv@gram.edu

Math & Statistics
Bassidy Dembele

Department of Math and Physics 
Grambling State University 
Grambling, LA 71245

(318) 274-2455  
dembeleb@gram.edu

Physics
Pedro Derosa

Department of Mathematics and Physics 
Grambling State University 
Grambling, LA 71245

(318) 274-3863
derosap@gram.edu

 

Science Education Division

Division Director 
Susan Sullivan

Dept of Biological Sciences 
Louisiana State University at Alexandria 
Alexandria, LA 71302

(318) 473-6431
ssullivan@lsua.edu

Section Chairs

 

 

Higher Education
Christie Landry

Department of Biology
Nicholls State University
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4871
christie.landry@nicholls.edu

K-12 Education
Chris Campbell

Science and Technology Education Ctr.
Louisiana Tech University
Ruston, LA 71272

(318) 257-2866
ctc@latech.edu

Social Sciences Division

Division Director
Alma Thornton

Center for Social Research and Dept. Sociology
Southern University
Baton Rouge , LA 70813

(225) 771-4249
Fax: (225) 771-4716

alma_thornton@subr.edu

 

Science and Humanities Division

Division Director
John Doucet

Department of Biological Sciences 
Nicholls State University 
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4721
John.Doucet@nicholls.edu


 

    Membership

Membership is open to in-dividuals, organizations, and institutions that are engaged in the advancement of science or the goals of the Academy. More Information

    Annual Meeting

The Annual Meeting is usually held in March. Scientists from throughout Louisiana are invited to attend and to present the results of their research. More Information

    Publications

The Proceedings of the Louisiana Academy of Sciences: A peer review research journal. More Information

Louisiana Scientist:  Bulletin of the Louisiana Academy of Sciences. More Information

    Grants

The Louisiana Academy of Sciences provides small grants to individuals or organizations to further the purpose of the Academy. More Information

    SIGs

Academy-hosted Special Interest Groups. More Information