Executive Council


  • Please direct correspondence regarding membership to the Treasurer and Membership Secretary.
  • Please direct correspondence regarding the Proceedings to the Senior Editor of Proceedings.
  • Please direct correspondence regarding the Student Paper Competition to the Annual Meeting Student Competitions Coordinator.
  • Please direct general correspondence to the President.

Officers

President (2013-2015)
Gerard Blanchard

Dept of Chemistry and Physics 
Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond, LA 70402

(985) 549-2158 
gblanchard@selu.edu

Past President (2013-2015)
Jonathan Akin

Department of Biology 
Northwestern State University 
Natchitoches, LA 71497

(337) 357-5323  
jonathana@nsula.edu

President-Elect (2013-2015)
John Doucet

College of Arts and Sciences
Nicholls State University
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4721
John.Doucet@nicholls.edu

Long Range Planning Chair 
William H. Dees

Department of Biology and Health Sciences   
McNeese State University
Lake Charles, LA 70609

(337) 475-5654 
wdees@mcneese.edu

Treasurer and Membership Secretary
Jonathan Akin

Department of Biology 
Northwestern State University 
Natchitoches, LA 71497

(337) 357-5323  
jonathana@nsula.edu

Secretary
Christof F. Stumpf

Department of Biological Sciences
8100 Highway 71 South 
Louisiana State University at Alexandria 
Alexandria, LA 71302-9121

(318) 473-6434  
cstumpf@lsua.edu

Senior Editor of Proceedings 
John Doucet

College of Arts and Sciences
Nicholls State University
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4721
John.Doucet@nicholls.edu

Web Site/Communication Coordinator 
Sebastian van Delden

Department of Computer Science and Industrial Technology  
Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond, LA 70402 

(985) 549-2189  
svandelden@southeastern.edu

Annual Meeting Student Competitions Coordinator
Juliana Hinton

Department of Biology and Health Sciences
McNeese State University
Lake Charles, LA  70609

(337) 475-5651
jhinton@mcneese.edu

Archivist
Thomas Sasek

Dept of Biology
University of Louisiana at Monroe
Monroe, LA  71209

(318) 342-1792
sasek@ulm.edu

Newsletter Editor
Riad Yehya

Dept of Sociology 
Southern University 
Baton Rouge, LA  70813

(225) 771-5095
riad_yehya@subr.edu


Agriculture, Forestry, and Wildlife Division

Division Director                           
Bogdan Strimbu

Dept of Forestry        
Louisiana Tech University             
Ruston, LA  71272

(318) 257-2168
strimbu@latech.edu


Biological Sciences Division

Division Director
Jameel Al-Dujaili

Division of Sciences   
Louisiana State University at Eunice 
Eunice, LA 70535

(337) 457- 7311 Ext. 251  
jdujaili@lsue.edu

Section Chairs

 

 

Botany
Alex Lasseigne

Department of Biological Sciences
Nicholls State University  
Thibodaux, LA  70310

(985) 448-4709  
Alex.Lasseigne@nicholls.edu

Environmental Sciences
Frank Phillips

Department of Agricultural Sciences 
Box 92220 
McNeese State University 
Lake Charles, LA 70609

(337) 475-5656 
fphillip@mcneese.edu

Microbiology 
Jameel Al-Dujaili

Division of Sciences 
Louisiana State University at Eunice 
Eunice, LA 70535 

(337) 457- 7311 Ext. 251
jdujaili@lsue.edu

Molecular and Biomedical Biology 
Ann Findley

Department of Biology  
University of Louisiana at Monroe  
Monroe, LA  71209

(318) 342-1817
afindley@ulm.edu

Zoology 
Jonathan Akin

Department of Biology
Northwestern State University 
Natchitoches, LA 71497

(337) 357-5323
jonathana@nsula.edu


Physical Sciences Division

Division Director 
Diola Bagayoko

Dept of Physics 
Southern University 
Baton Rouge, LA 70813

(225) 771-2730
Bagayoko@aol.com
Bagayoko@phys.subr.edu

Section Chairs

 

 

Chemistry  
August Gallo

Department of Chemistry  
University of Louisiana at Lafayette 
Lafayette, LA  70504

(337) 482-5679 
gallo@louisiana.edu

Computer Science 
Yenumula Reddy

Department of Math and Computer Science 
Grambling State University 
Grambling, LA  71245

(318) 274-2421  
ybreddy@gram.edu

Earth Sciences
Anne Case Hanks

College of Arts, Education, and Sciences 
University of Louisiana at Monroe  
Monroe, LA  71209

(318) 342-1822  
casehanks@ulm.edu

Materials Science and Engineering 
Naidu Seetala

Department of Physics
Grambling State University
Grambling, LA 71245

(318) 274-2574
naidusv@gram.edu

Math & Statistics
Bassidy Dembele

Department of Math and Physics 
Grambling State University 
Grambling, LA 71245

(318) 274-2455  
dembeleb@gram.edu

Physics
Pedro Derosa

Department of Mathematics and Physics 
Grambling State University 
Grambling, LA 71245

(318) 274-3863
derosap@gram.edu


Science Education Division

Division Director 
Susan Sullivan

Dept of Biological Sciences 
Louisiana State University at Alexandria 
Alexandria, LA 71302

(318) 473-6431
ssullivan@lsua.edu

Section Chairs

 

 

Higher Education
vacant


K-12 Education
vacant



Social Sciences Division

Division Director
Alma Thornton

Center for Social Research and Dept. Sociology
Southern University
Baton Rouge , LA 70813

(225) 771-4249
Fax: (225) 771-4716
alma_thornton@subr.edu


Science and Humanities Division

Division Director
John Doucet

Department of Biological Sciences 
Nicholls State University 
Thibodaux, LA 70310

(985) 448-4721
John.Doucet@nicholls.edu



    Membership

Membership in the Louisiana Academy of Sciences is open to those individuals, organizations, and institutions that are engaged actively in the advancement of science or which provide material assistance to advance the purposes of the Academy. More Information

    Annual Meeting

The Academy's Annual Meeting generally is held in February or early March. Scientists from all of Louisiana's public and private colleges and universities are invited to present the results of their research at this meeting. More Information

    Publications

The Proceedings of the Louisiana Academy of Sciences: Contributions reporting original research or observations and analyses dealing with some aspect of natural, physical, or social science generated in or about the State of Louisiana or the South will be considered. Manuscripts will undergo peer review by two or three experts. More Information

Louisiana Scientist: The newsletter of the Academy. More Information

    Governance

The Academy is governed by the Executive Council, in accordance with the Academy’s Constitution and Bylaws.

    Contact

Please direct general corres- pondence to the President.